1919 - 1967
August Diehl acquires the Civilcasino with a direct view of the Rhine in Koblenz – Ehrenbreitstein and opens the café Rheinterrasse.
After undergoing renovation, 4 guest rooms are built, marking the birth of the hotel business.
The expansion from 4 to 15 guest rooms leads to the addition of the name Hotel Rheinterrasse.
French occupiers confiscated the hotel at the end of World War II.
August Diehl organizes the catering for the participants of the Rittersturz conference.
1967 - 1992
Franz Diehl, son of August, takes over the family business with his wife Helene and changes the hotel’s name to the now well-known Diehls Hotel.
The renovation work is completed. The hotel is now two-storied, the facade is unified, and the number of beds has increased to 100.
The current swimming pool is built and another 16 double rooms are added.
The hotel is enhanced with one conference room and 8 additional rooms.
1967 - 1992
1992 - now
Gisela Diehl, Franz’s youngest daughter, takes over the hotel’s operation together with her husband Hans-Joachim Mehlhorn.
Until present, thanks to constant renovations and extensions, the hotel now has 68 rooms and 3 conference rooms.
Nils, Gisela’s son, returns to the family business after his experience abroad in the hotel industry and will replace the 3rd generation in the near future.